Skip to Main Content
Sign In
Toggle Navigation

Open the Navigation Management window, which can be used to view the full current branch of the menu tree, and edit it.

  • EMail
  • Donate

Class of 2019 Awards

Image Picker for Section 0
​The Nellie Thompson Rudd Award​
Deborah Mack

Deborah Mack, 2019 Nellie Thompson Rudd Award Recipient

Endowed by University of Delaware’s past president E. Arthur Trabant in honor of his mother, the annual Nellie Thompson Rudd Award acknowledges a graduating senior with a major or minor in Women & Gender Studies, who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship, leadership and service to the Department of Women & Gender Studies and to the University of Delaware.

The 2019 Nellie Thompson Rudd Award was presented to Deborah Mack, who graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Women & Gender Studies with a Concentration in Domestic Violence Prevention and Services. 

During Summer 2018, Deborah received support through the Mae & Robert Carter Endowment in Women's Studies to participate in a ten-week Domestic Violence Prevention and Services Practicum with a direct service provider, and acquired both the educational training and a required portion of direct service hours toward certification in the state of Delaware as a domestic violence specialist.

 After graduation, Deborah plans to pursue the completion of Certification as a Domestic Violence Specialist and to work as an advocate with Child Inc. to gather experience before pursuing a career working with women issues.

The Kathleen Doherty Turkel Award for Social Justice Activism
Kelly James (L) and Nat Veiga

Kelly James (L)  and Nat Veiga, 2019 Graduates

The Kathleen Doherty Turkel Award for Social Justice Activism was established to honor the work of Dr. Turkel, who recently retired from the Department of Women & Gender Studies after 35 years of teaching at the University of Delaware, where she has been an inspirational teacher and mentor to thousands of students. The Award is presented to a student majoring in Women & Gender Studies in recognition of their social justice activism on campus or in the larger community.  The inaugural recipient of The Kathleen Doherty Turkel Award for Social Justice Activism is Kelly James, who graduated with majors in Women & Gender Studies and Public Policy as well as minors in Political Science, Legal Studies, and Sexuality & Gender Studies. At UD, Kelly has been active with Students Acting for Gender Equity (SAGE), serving as its president, as well as serving as LGBT Outreach Coordinator for Planned Parenthood Generation Action and as a member of the Marching Band. Also the recipient of a 2018 James R Soles Stipend and Fellowship award from the Department of Political Science & International Relations, Kelly is currently working as a Workplace Equality Intern at the Human Rights Campaign, while pursuing a Master’s degree in Public Administration with a Nonprofit Management Specialization, through the 4+1 graduate program at the University of Delaware. 

Awards of Special Merit were conferred to four outstanding 2019 graduates in Women & Gender Studies. The recipients were Sara Del Valle, Alexandra Eichenstein, Ashley Peloso, and Olivia Rogal. In addition, Nat Veiga was selected to deliver the 2019 Convocation Graduate Address, by the Women & Gender Studies 2019 Capstone Class.

Page Settings and MetaData:
(Not Shown on the Page)
Page Settings
Graduate Awards
MetaData for Search Engine Optimization
Class of 2019 Awards
  • Department of Women & Gender Studies
  • 34 West Delaware Avenue
  • Newark, DE 19716, USA
  • University of Delaware
  • Phone: 302-831-8474